New things for the garden

I have just purchased a hypericum inodorum bush, from of all places, pound land. Well I felt sorry for it, it is trying to grow shoots and has been kept in the dark so they are a bit pale, at least there is no doubt it is alive at the moment. Well for a pound I thought I’d risk it. Its going to go in the front garden now there is a bit more room after pruning the three huge cornus. Hopefully it will brighten up a fairly shady spot. It was only when I looked it up on the internet to see whether it would mind a bit of shade I found out hypericum is St Johns Wort, interesting, at least I though so.

I also bought 3 small hanging baskets I’m going to try herbs in, a half tray propagator and lid and a collapsable garden rubbish container. I wasn’t planning of buying any of these things today but never mind.

The chilli / pepper plants that have been potted up are all beginning to form there proper leaves, not that it will help me tell them apart. I still have quite a few to pot up so I think I over did the seeds a bit. Thats a lesson learnt for next year.

I also received this morning two new gardening books from Amazon, The Edible Container Garden: Fresh Food from Tiny Spaces and Square Foot Gardening: A New Way to Garden in Less Space with Less Work. Both were reviewed on an episode of The Alternative Kitchen Garden podcast which I recommend if you are at all interested in gardening. I am listening to all the back episodes which, apart from having to keep checking what date they were recorded to see when ‘now’ is, are really interesting and cover a very wide range of topics. I haven’t had chance to read the books yet but I can’t wait to read them and get my veg garden up and growing.

1 Comment »

  1. barbaracuerden said

    Thanks for the square foot gardening tips and links, and the RHS sources.
    I’m blogging about my research in eco-art and schoolyard gardens. Also involved in three new ones up and coming here in Ottawa, Ont.. The Obama’s garden will alter the horizon for all us home growers, I’m hoping.
    http://escapelot.wordpress.com

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

