Curry night and leftovers

I cooked curry for dinner tonight which was a first for A, he loved it! I didn’t follow the recipe exactly as M prefers hotter curries, while I’m the mild and creamy korma type, but veggie, so I quickly boiled a little cubed butternut squash for a couple of minutes and added that instead of the chicken. A then had some cooked chicken added at the end. If the recipe is supposed to make two childs portions then I think I’m in for a shock at how much little people eat. A and I had plenty to eat plus there is a small amount left to go in the freezer for a quick dinner another time. Ok, so I didn’t weigh everything, but I don’t think I over estimated too much, I did measure the liquid ingrediants and there was a lot of (yummy) sauce.

I don’t usually use specific child recipes as I have always tried to cook things we can all eat rather than A having special food, but this recipe sounded nice when I read it in a free leaflet and I fancied trying it as well. I’m glad I did.

I am accumulating an odd selection of leftovers in the fridge:

  • Half a carton of passata
  • Half a tin of coconut milk
  • One egg white
  • Half a butternut squash
  • Lots of kiwi fruit (I haven’t made the sorbet yet)
  • Some over-ripe pears (crumble?)
  • Cabbage
  • Variety of cheeses
  • Cooked chicken
  • Cold roast lamb

Plus I have the usual everyday stuff. I usually make soup if I have things that need using up but this list does not say soup to me. The coconut milk is the most difficult one for me as I usually only use it in curry but I don’t think it will last until next week’s curry night.

Leave a Reply

